Course Details

The MBKA Introduction to Beekeeping Course is held in Broughton Gifford Village Hall, SN12 8PN.  

The next course will run on the following dates: Thursdays April 22nd and April 29th, May 6th and May 13th  2021. Course bookings close end of March 2021.

The course consists of 4 evening theory sessions, as well as 2 practical sessions, handling bees in the Club Apiary in Rowde, near Devizes.

The 4 evening theory sessions run from 7:45pm - 9:45pm, including a break for refreshments (free).

The 2 practical apiary sessions will take place on Thursday May 20th and May 27th, subject to weather conditions.

The Course Fee

The course costs just £50 for the 5/6 sessions.  Couples can attend at a cost of £75.  Under 18s are FREE (limited spaces).

The fee should be received in advance at the time of booking.  Please use the booking form to book your place and send it along with your cheque.  You can also pay by BACS (details on the booking form).  We advise booking early as the course is always oversubscribed.

Please feel free to phone or email the course leader if you would like any further information:

Frances Shires

01249 444093

Reading List
The contents of the course will teach you most of what you need to know before you start keeping bees.  However, if you decide to keep bees you will most definitely need one or two good beekeeping books from the beginning.  You may wish to acquire a book or two before the course starts in order to be prepared.  The following titles are recommended as good beginner's guides.

The Bee Manual: The Complete Step-by-Step Guide to Keeping Bees (New Ed)

by Claire & Adrian Waring

ISBN-13: 978-0857338099

The BBKA Guide to Beekeeping, Second Edition

by Ivor Davis & Roger Cullum-Kenyon

ISBN-13: 978-1472920898 (Make sure you get the second edition which is much better than the first)

Bees at the Bottom of the Garden

by Alan Campion

ISBN-13: 978-0907908975

An amusing bit of light reading, but not by any means a practical guide:

The Bad Beekeepers Club

by Bill Turnbull

ISBN-13: 978-0751544053